Pennsylvania is one of a handful of states that requires a tax paid on inheritances. There is also a federal estate tax, but your estate is exempt as long as your estate is valued at less than $5,450,000 for 2016. Pennsylvania, on the other hand, has no minimum threshold.
The inheritance tax in Pennsylvania only covers tangible property (i.e. furniture, clothes, collectibles, vehicles) and real estate located in Pennsylvania.
Furthermore, there are several exemptions: spouses, parents inheriting from a child who passed away before reaching the age of 21 years, charities, and the government.
The tax rates are as follows:
Other beneficiaries: 15%
You must file the inheritance tax within 9 months from the date of death, or else there may be penalties and interest. However, you get a 5% discount when the tax is paid within 3 months of passing.